How long is the 2022 Tour de France and how many stages are there?

Cycling’s biggest race begins today as the Paris chase begins, but how long is the 2022 Tour de France really and how many stages are there this year?

One of the great sporting events begins with the flag-waving at the 2022 Tour de France – Copenhagen, Denmark.

It is customary for the final test of endurance to begin outside France, with this year’s race also making its way through Belgium and Switzerland before ending in France.

The finale, as always, will take place in the processional sprint to the Champs-Elysées as one of the team leaders seeks to add his name to the list of winners.

But how long is the 2022 Tour de France? How many steps are there and which is the longest stage?

Photo by Anne-Christine Pouzoulat/AFP via Getty Images

How long is the 2022 Tour de France?

The 2022 Tour de France is 2,068 miles – or 3,328 kilometres. It will run from July 1st to July 24th, with riders set for a mix of hills, mountains and time trials to reach Paris first.

In recent years, the Tour de France has been around 2,100 miles (about 3,550 km) in length, with ups and downs on either side.

In 2021, Tadej Pogakar claimed his second straight Tour victory with a distance of 2,121.6 miles – or 3,414.4 km. It took him 82 hours, 56 minutes and 36 seconds.

The longest Tour to date was in 1926 when Lucien Buysse won the 3,570-mile or 5,745-kilometer race in 238 hours, 44 minutes and 25 seconds.

How many stages are there in the race?

There are 21 stages in total in the 2022 Tour de France.

They are divided between seven hills, six mountains and six flats, which have also been tested twice.

Two-time tests book the entire program effectively.

Copenhagen also has a time trial with Phase 20 of Phase 21.

As the 21st and final stage in Paris is usually a procession with a determined final sequence, it is stage 20 that decides the winner.

The longest stage is stage six, in a 140-mile (220 km) route in north-eastern France.

Riders will only get two rest days through the Tour, which takes place on July 11 and July 18 – although July 4 is a transfer day.

Photo by Anne-Christine Pouzoulat/AFP via Getty Images

In other news, R Kelly and Ghislaine Maxwell’s punishment disparity has stunned Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.